Administration

Organize your workgroups at lightning speed

BSCW features a comprehensive administration interface for maintaining the databases and user accounts. The system administrator has the option of using command lines or a graphical user interface, which provide all of the important functions needed for administering the system.

In most cases however, BSCW users manage the system on their own by inviting members and assigning their own user names and passwords. That creates little, if any, effort to administer users. However, the self-organisation function can be deactivated in order to keep the responsibility for administering user accounts in the hands of the system administrator. 

BSCW command line With predefined rights, users can set up new workspaces on their own. Creating content such as folders, documents and meetings remains the responsibility of the user of course, and this relieves the administer of these tasks. If a user forgets a password, he can easily reset it on his own without the intervention of the system administrator.

Otherwise, the administration of the system is limited to setting up automated processes that occur on a regular basis such as database clean-up, automated backups and installing new system updates.

BSCW-AdministrationWith the administration interface, the system administrator can easily create new users (using batch processes as well) and define their address data and settings, as well as temporarily block or delete user accounts. In addition, the BSCW quota system allows the administrator to restrict the disk space for individual user accounts.

Apart from the detailed user manual and list of frequently asked questions (FAQ), BSCW also features a comprehensive administrator manual that describes in detail all BSCW administration functions.

Indexing and conversion

BSCW offers system administrators "plug-in support" for conversion services, such as the automatic conversion of documents into the PDF format, which can be easily integrated and made available to the user. 

Platform-independent content-based searches are carried out by means of indexing with the help of the PyLucene indexing software. PyLucene is a Python indexing software extension for accessing Java Lucene

The integration of PyLucene into the BSCW system provides an alternative method of indexing BSCW data (and documents) and features a corresponding search function. The extension is particularly suitable for large BSCW installations and is easily installed by the administrator. The indexes are automatically administered and updated by BSCW.

Do you have further questions? Need more details?
Please contact us!

Administration

AdministrationOrganisieren Sie Arbeitsgruppen im Handumdrehen

BSCW ist mit einer umfassenden Administrationsschnittstelle zur Pflege von Datenbank und Benutzerkonten ausgestattet: dem Systemadministrator steht dazu sowohl eine Kommandozeilenschnittstelle als auch eine grafische Benutzerschnittstelle zur Verfügung, die alle wichtigen Funktionen zur Administration anbietet.

In der Regel verwalten sich BSCW-Benutzer allerdings selber: sie laden neue Mitglieder ein und vergeben sich selbst Benutzernamen und Kennwort, so dass bei der Benutzerverwaltung kaum administrativer Aufwand entsteht. Diese  Selbstorganisation durch die Benutzer kann jedoch abgeschaltet werden, um die Verwaltung von Benutzerkonten zentral in der Hand des Systemadministrators zu halten.

BSCW command line Anwender können (mit den vorkonfigurierten Rechten) neue Arbeitsbereiche selbständig einrichten. Das Einstellen von Inhalten (Ordner, Dokumente, Termine etc.) ist natürlich Sache der Anwender und belastet den Administrator nicht. Vergisst ein Benutzer sein Kennwort, so kann er dies leicht selbst zurücksetzen.

Ansonsten beschränkt sich die Administration des Systems im wesentlichen auf die Einrichtung von automatisierten Prozessen (etwa zur Bereinigung der Datenbank und zum automatischen Backup) und das Einspielen von neuen System-Versionen (updates), die regelmäßig erscheinen.

BSCW-AdministrationÜber die Administrationsschnittstelle kann der Systemadministrator ganz einfach neue Benutzer anlegen (auch im Batch-Verfahren), deren Adressdaten und Einstellungen festlegen, Benutzerkonten zeitweilig sperren oder ganz löschen. Das Quota-System von BSCW erlaubt darüberhinaus dem Administrator, Plattenplatz für Benutzerkonten individuell zu begrenzen.

BSCW bietet neben dem ausführlichen Benutzerhandbuch und einer Liste von häufigen Fragen (FAQ) ein umfassendes Adminstrator-Handbuch, das alle Funktionen der BSCW-Administration im Detail beschreibt.

Indizierung und Konvertierung

BSCW bietet für den BSCW-Systemadministrator bereits 'plugin support' für Konvertierungs-Dienste, die einfach angebunden und dem Anwender zur Verfügung gestellt werden können — beispielsweise zur automatischen Konvertierung von Dokumenten in das PDF-Format.
Inhaltsbasierte Suche wird plattformunabhängig durch Indizierung mit Hilfe der PyLucene-Indexer-Software erreicht. PyLucene ist eine Python-Erweiterung der Indexer-Software aus dem Apache-Projekt Java Lucene

Die PyLucene-Integration in BSCW ermöglicht eine alternative Indizierung der BSCW-Daten (und -Dokumente) und bietet entsprechende Suchfunktionen. Die Erweiterung ist insbesondere für große Installationen von BSCW sinnvoll und ist durch den Administrator einfach zu installieren. Selbstverständlich werden die Indizes von BSCW automatisch verwaltet und aktualisiert.

Interessieren Sie sich für weitere Details? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!
Bei Fragen: Sprechen Sie uns bitte an !