Portrait

Company evolution

OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co. KG was founded in 1998 as a spin-off of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT (at that time part of GMD, which eventually merged with the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft) with the aim of developing and marketing the BSCW shared workspace system. OrbiTeam's primary business is the professional support, maintenance and development of BSCW systems around the world.

OrbiTeam works closely with the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology FIT, which has been engaged in the development of collaborative support systems for more than 20 years. Fraunhofer FIT recognised years ago that there was a large gap between simple cooperation tools like e-mail or bulletin boards and complex client/server systems. This prompted the institute to begin developing a solution to bridge this gap in 1994.

The resulting product, in its original version, was the BSCW system. The launch and corresponding announcement quickly revealed that the market was ripe for such a product, driven in part by the overwhelming user feedback.

Team

We support our customers during the entire process, from the requirements analysis, to delivery of the software and on to installation and training. To carry out our projects, we utilise various development tools and state-of-the-art technologies.

Our team boasts many years of experience in the development of software solutions for web-based collaboration. We work with standard products such as Eclipse and Subversion.  For application development, we rely on established object-oriented languages such as Python and Java. The development of user interfaces is based on state-of-the-art technologies and standards such as HTML/CSS and Ajax/JavaScript.

All of our employees have extensive, in-depth knowledge in the planning and development of Internet-based applications and groupware systems. Because each of us is involved in the development and maintenance of our product, we know the BSCW system like the back of our hand. This enables us to respond to your requirements and wishes with a small team of highly-motivated, highly-qualified specialists.

Headquarters

OrbiTeam is headquartered in Bonn, Germany.

Porträt

Entstehung

Die OrbiTeam Software GmbH & Co. KG wurde 1998 als Spin-Off des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Angewandte Informationstechnik (FIT) für die Weiterentwicklung und den Vertrieb des BSCW Shared Workspace Systems gegründet. Hauptziele von OrbiTeam sind die Pflege, Weiterentwicklung und der professionelle Support von BSCW-Systemen weltweit.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte Informationstechnik, mit dem OrbiTeam eng zusammenarbeitet, beschäftigt sich seit mehr als 20 Jahren mit der Entwicklung von Systemen zur Kooperationsunterstützung. Da zwischen einfachsten Mitteln zur Kooperation wie E-Mail oder Newsgroups und hochkomplexen Client-Server-Systemen eine hohe Diskrepanz bestand, begannen Mitarbeiter von FIT 1994 mit der Entwicklung einer Lösung, die diese Lücke schließen sollte.

Das Produkt, das dabei – in der Urfassung – entstand, ist BSCW. Schon kurz nach Publikationen zu BSCW und seiner Freigabe zur Benutzung stellte sich – unter anderem durch die überwältigend große Nachfrage – schnell heraus, dass der Markt auf ein Produkt wie BSCW gewartet hatte.

Team

Wir begleiten unsere Kunden von der Anforderungsanalyse bis zur Übergabe der Software mit Installation und Schulung. In unseren Projekten setzen wir verschiedenste Entwicklungswerkzeuge und aktuelle Technologien ein.

Unser Team verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Softwareentwicklung kooperativer Anwendungen im Web-Umfeld. Wir arbeiten mit Standardprodukten wie Eclipse und Subversion — in der Anwendungsentwicklung setzen wir auf etablierte objektorientierte Sprachen wie Python und Java. Bei der Entwicklung von Benutzerschnittstellen werden aktuelle Technologien und Standards wie HTML/CSS und Ajax/JavaScript verwendet.

Alle OrbiTeam Mitarbeiter besitzen langjährige, fundierte Kenntnisse in Planung und Entwicklung von Internet-Anwendungen und Internet-basierten Groupware-Systemen. Die Entwicklung und Pflege von BSCW macht jeden Mitarbeiter zu einem intimen Kenner des BSCW-Systems. So gelingt es uns, mit einer kleinen Anzahl hochmotivierter und hochqualifizierter Spezialisten optimal auf Ihre Wünsche und Anforderungen zu reagieren.

Sitz

Firmensitz von OrbiTeam ist Bonn.

Kontaktformular

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf. Auf dem einfachsten Weg: dem Formular. Details

Referenzen

Erfolgreiche Projekte und zufriedene Kunden — das sind unsere besten Referenzen. Details